Last Updated: December 21, 2017, 3:47 pm

New Congressional Map for Utah


Utah divided into four new congressional districts on Monday, when the state’s lawmakers and Congress representatives concluded a session that lasted several weeks. This is the 19th version of the map, and is divided to accommodate the governing of Utah’s population.

However, the past few weeks have been filled with heated debate over not just the boundaries, but the motivations behind them. 

Several cities will be divided into two congressional districts, such as Park City, American Fork, and Salt Lake City. In response to Democratic questioning, House Republicans have stated that the map could be supported from both House and Senate.  

But Democrats have become concerned for many reasons. In one instance, the new map changes borders of the 2nd District so drastically, some say it practically outs the only Democrat in Utah office, Rep. Jim Matheson.

The new Utah Congressional Boundaries can be seen here: